[TR Ent] AMVCA 2017: Check Out The Full List of Winners

share on:

Stay with us for all the updates from the fifth annual Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards.

7:00 Timi Dakolo kicks things off and the crowd loves it!

7:13 The first award (Best Makeup Artist) of the night goes to HakeemOnilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon for Oloibiri.

7:18. The award for Best Costume Designer goes to Pat Egwurube wins for ’76.

7:21 The award for Best Art Director goes to Pat Nebo for ’76.

7:25 Guy Steer wins the Best Sound Editor award for Vaya.

7. 26  Olobiri wins again as Nnodim Chigozie and  Paula Peterson win the Best Picture Editor category. Nnodim is moved to tears as he gives his acceptance speech.

7:36 The Best Lighting Design Award goes to Elliot Sewape for 93 Days

7:39 Best Cinematograpy is another big category and the award goes to Lance Gewer for Happiness Is A Four Letter Word.

7:41 The Best Short Film/Online Video Award goes to Cat Face.

7:43 The award for Best Documentary goes to Uga Carlini for Alison.

7:50 Commercial break and then a musical interlude. Fela would be proud of the performance of his Open and Close. The crowd loves it.

8:00 Deborah Anungwa wins the award for Best Actress in a Comedy Series.

8:01 Best Actor in a Comedy Series goes to Samuel Ajibola.

8:04 Best Actress in a Drama goes to Meg Otanwa for Hush.

8:06 David Jones wins Best Actor in a Drama for Hotel Majestic.

8:11 The award for Best Comedy Series goes to The Johnsons.

8:12 The Best Drama Award goes to Tinsel.

8:20 The Voice winner, Arese Emokpae gives a touching tribute to all the dearly departed stars. It’s okay if you shed a tear or two at this point.

8:29 Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili) award goes to Zilizala

8:32 Tijani Shehu Yahaya of the series Zaki Da Zuciya picks up the award for Best Indigenous Movie or Series (Hausa)

8:35 Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba) award goes to Somewhere in the Dark by Jumoke Odetola and Abiodun Jimoh.

8:37 Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo) award is given to Crey Ahanonu for Amonye Bu Onye

8:42 The award for Best Soundtrack/Original Score goes to Michael Ogunlade for The Encounter

8:46 Award for Best TV Series goes to … Jenifa herself, Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary. The award comes with a N250,000 gift voucher too.

8:51 The awards take another breather in the form of DNA; newly signed to Mavin Records, entertaining the AMVCA audience. *puts on dancing shoes*

8:56 Back to the awards and the next to be given is Best Writer in a Movie or TV Series which is won by Craig Freimond, Anthony Mafela and co for Vaya.

9:00 Without looking at Adesua Etomi‘s ‘flowers’, the winner of the Best Supporting Actress award is Ebele Okaro Onyuike for her role in Four One Love.

9:03 Next is the award for Best Supporting Actor which goes to a very emotional Rotimi Salami for his role in Just Not Married.

9:08 Now, for Best Actress in a Comedy, the award goes to Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary.

9:10 Chigul and Falz just got the building laughing! Is there an award for best presenters of an award? No? Why not!

9:13 Imeh Bishop Umoh a.k.a Okon Lagos wins the award for Best Actor in a Comedy for The Boss Is Mine.

9:15 After the awards for comedy roles comes Simi to entertain us with her melodious voice.

9:21 A special recognition award – the Trailblazer Award – goes to actress Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama.

She’s presented with the keys to a GAC car as well.

9:29 Another special recognition award, the AMVCA Industry Merit Award, goes to the legendary Chika Okpala, better known as Zebrudaya from New Masquerade! And he gets himself a GAC SUV.

9:36 Next up is the award for Best Movie (East Africa) which goes to Kati Kati.

9:39 And from the east, we move to the award for Best Movie (West Africa) which is won by Oloibiri.

9:42 Now, for the Best Movie (Southern Africa) award. The winner is All About Love.

9:48 Nigerian singer Waje – who’s changed her outfit – gets on stage to perform her new single, ‘Mountain’ for the first time with South Africa’s Lira.

9:56 Rita Dominic gets the award of Best Actress in a Movie or TV Series for her role in ’76.

10:01 And in a star-studded category that has Olu JacobsRichard Mofe-Damijo and Ramsey Nouah, it is Sambasa Nzeribe from the movie Slow Country who emerges winner of the Best Actor in a Movie or TV Series. And he pays due homage to the other nominees by prostrating flat on the stage. Manners.

10:06 Next award to be presented is for Best Director which is won by Izu Ojukwu for ’76.

10:11 And the final award of the night is for the Best Overall Movie which is won by ’76.

10:17 With that award, hosts IK Osakioduwa and Minnie Dlamini bring the ceremony to an end.

It was great having you through the evening. Have a great night!

463 total views, 4 views today

Rancy Jay

Rancy Jay

I Dont have much to say about myself but an artiste and also a blogger, born to blog, promote, hype and update the latest updates. Adeniyi Fashina by name but popularly known as Rancy Jay, base in lagos... what more? if you need more mail me info@toorugged.com

Leave a Response